Medieval & Renaissance Graduate Student Association

Body

Medieval & Renaissance Graduate Student Association

MRGSA is an interdisciplinary association of graduate students working in Medieval and Renaissance fields, designed to serve the academic, professional, and social needs of these students. MRGSA hosts and supports a variety of events on campus. The faculty advisor is Dr. Leslie Lockett, CMRS Associate Director and Associate Professor of English.

 

2020–2021 Officers

Meaghan Pachay (pachay.1@osu.edu) President

Tori Dikeman (dikeman.8@osu.edu) Vice President

Tamara Mahadin (mahadin.1@osu.edu) Treasurer

Abby Greff (greff.9@osu.edu) Secretary

Nick Hoffman (hoffman.1088@osu.edu) General Committee Member

Maggie Wilson (wilson.4170@osu.edu) General Committee Member

Lucía Aja Lopez (ajalopez.1@osu.edu) General Committee Member

 

Programs, Events, & Sponsorships

 

Graduate Student Conference

The Medieval and Renaissance Graduate Student Association holds an annual academic conference for graduate students working within these periods. Our goal is to give junior academics from around the region an opportunity to present their papers in a collegial and professional atmosphere, and to hear interesting papers by well-respected keynote speakers.

Graduate Student Professional Development Series

MRGSA holds monthly workshops and roundtables to support graduate students at all stages as they professionalize. Past events have included talks on managing committees and publishing in grad school.

Social Events

Our graduate students participate in a variety of social events, including monthly happy hours, throughout the year. The aim of these meetings is to encourage interdisciplinary conversation among aspiring Medieval and Renaissance scholars at OSU, as well as to provide a support network for our members.

CMRS Lecture Series

To show our appreciation for the variety and quality of medieval and renaissance lectures offered by CMRS each year, MRGSA is pleased to sponsor one event in this annual series as the keynote of our annual conference.